Governance Group biographies

Jeffrey S. Flier, MD
, became the 21st Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Harvard University on September 1, 2007. Dr. Flier, an endocrinologist and an authority on the molecular causes of obesity and diabetes, is also the Carolyn Shields Walker Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. Previously Dr. Flier had served as Harvard Medical School Faculty Dean for Academic Programs and Chief Academic Officer for Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, a Harvard teaching affiliate.

Michael E. Greenberg, PhD, is the Chair of the Harvard NeuroDiscovery Center, Chair of the Harvard Medical School Department of Neurobiology, and Nathan Marsh Pusey Professor. He came to Harvard Medical School in 2008 from Boston Children’s Hospital, where he directed the F.M. Kirby Neurobiology Center. Greenberg’s selection as chair reflects his unique qualification to lead the department at a pivotal moment in the field of neuroscience, when understanding of the nervous system at a molecular, cellular, and physiological level is increasingly translating to direct influence on the treatment of neurologic and psychiatric disease. Greenberg’s own research has expanded understanding of the molecular basis of the major events in neural development, the neural responses to injury and disease, and the potential for intervention, treatment, or cure. His research has also explored the molecular biology and genetics of autism spectrum disorders. He is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including membership in both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Science. He is also the  recipient of the McKnight Innovation in Neuroscience Award, the Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience, and the A. Cliffo by Harvard Medical School to faculty members who have established a long-term commitment to fostering strong mentoring relationships with students, trainees, and junior faculty.

Dennis J. Selkoe, MD, Co-Founder and Co-Chair of the Harvard NeuroDiscovery Center, is the Vincent and Stella Coates Professor of Neurologic Diseases at Harvard Medical School and Co-Director of the Ann Romney Center for Neurologic Diseases, Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Dr. Selkoe has devoted his career to medical research, specifically related to molecular approaches to the study of neurodegenerative disease. Dr. Selkoe’s contributions continue to break new ground toward the understanding of Alzheimer’s disease. For example, Dr. Selkoe and his collaborators conducted extensive research on the hallmark legion of Alzheimer’s disease, the amyloid plaque, as well as the amyloid ß-protein. Dr. Selkoe was the principal founding scientist of Athena Neurosciences, now Elan Pharmaceuticals.

Wade Harper, PhD, is the Bert and Natalie Vallee Professor of Molecular Pathology and the Chairman of the Department of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School (HMS). He received his PhD in Chemistry at the Georgia Institute of Technology prior to post-doctoral studies at HMS. In 1988, he joined the faculty in the Department of Biochemistry at Baylor College of Medicine before moving to HMS in 2003. Awards include the Vallee Visiting Professorship, and the Javits award from the National Institute for Neurological signaling systems. Seminar work from his lab includes the discovery of the first mammalian CDK inhibitor p21 and co-discovery of the cullin RING finger family of ubiquitin ligases (CRLs), which control the bulk of regulated proteolysis in cells. His lab has examined a number of distinct CRLs and defined their targets, which include proteins involved in cell cycle control, transcription, innate immunity, and the DNA damage response. Recently, Dr. Harper’s lab has used proteomic approaches to define the interaction networks of various protein families (deubiquitinating enzymes, F-box proteins) and signaling networks (autophagy, ERAD, CRLs, Parkin), as well as to define the ubiquitin-modified proteome. The proteomics platforms developed for interaction proteomics are currently being used to define the interactions across a wide array of human proteins, and in particular, proteins implicated in neurodegenerative diseases, including Parkinson’s Disease.

Lynn Wood Harwell JD, MBA, is the Executive Director of the Harvard NeuroDiscovery Center (“HNDC”). Lynn received her JD/MBA from Harvard Law School & Harvard Business School and brings broad experience in public policy for biomedical research, finance, and management. This includes strength leveraging new funding sources and collaborations across biomedical institutions (e.g. academia, biotech, foundations). Prior to the Center, Lynn served as Deputy to the Governing Board Chair at the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM). While at CIRM, Lynn's primary responsibilities included management of $3 billion authorized in general obligation bonds to support stem cell research and facilities, outreach to stakeholders, and work with the CIRM Governing Board in its creation of novel research programs for patients with unmet medical needs.

Bradley T. Hyman, MD, PhD, is the John B. Penney, Jr. Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital where he has a clinical practice in the Memory and Disorder Unit and is the Director of the Massachusetts Alzheimer Disease Research Center. His clinical career is devoted towards the care of patients with dementia. His research laboratory is pursuing research in Alzheimer’s disease, and other neurodegenerative diseases, with a goal of understanding the neuropathophysiologic and genetic factors that underlie dementia. Dr. Hyman’s laboratory is developing methods to examine clinical-pathological correlates and biomarkers in AD, as well as animal and cell models to explore the natural history of the diseases. A recent focus has been the use of advanced microscopy methods – including multiphoton microscopy for in vivo imaging of plaques, tangles, and synuclein aggregates, as well as FRET methods to detect protein-protein interactions and protein conformation. Dr. Hyman has received the Potamkin Award, a Metropolitan Life Award, a Brookdale Foundation fellowship, an Alzheimer Association Faculty Scholar Award, an Alzheimer Association Pioneer Award, and a National Institute on Aging Merit Award.

Michael P. White, M.S, is the Chief Financial Officer at Harvard Medical School and is responsible for the development, interpretation, coordination, and administration of school policies for all financial operations.  He is responsible for the maintenance of records and procedures required to adequately safeguard the assets of the organization, and insure the timely and accurate preparation of periodic financial statements.  He directs the organization’s strategic and operational financial planning, budgeting process, accounting and finance practices, financial risk assessment, forecasting and variance analysis; and will maintain relations with the University, Affiliated Hospitals and Research Institutions.   He has over 20 years of experience in higher education, most recently as CFO for the Boston University School of Medicine. He is a proven community builder and leader who is capable of looking “beyond the numbers” to help faculty achieve their scientific and training goals.